Public Service Minister Moses Kuria to Launch Soccer Tournament Costing Millions of Shillings


Public Service Cabinet Secretary Moses Kuria has organized the “Moses Kuria Peace Cup” football tournament where the winner will bag Ksh5 million.

The inaugural Moses Kuria Peace tournament will be officially launched on March 9th, 2024, at Kinoru Stadium in Meru County.

The tournament which is being played in the Mount Kenya region will feature teams from 66 constituencies drawn from 11 counties.

Deputy President (DP) Rigathi Gachagua aka Riggy G will grace the launch as the chief guest with Governors, Members of Parliament (MPs), Senators, Women Representatives and Members of County Assembly (MCAs) expected to attend.

The winning team will bag Ksh5 million after winning the finals which will be staged on June 2nd, 2024 at Afraha Stadium in Nakuru.

The last Group Matches will be played on April 13th, then proceed to the round of 16 on April 27th, 2024.

The quarter finals will be staged on May 4th-5th, 2024, then the semis between May 18th and 25th.

The third place play offs will be played to mark Madaraka Day celebrations before the finals being played on June 2nd, 2024.

“I thank the Public Service Cabinet Secretary Moses Kuria for giving football  priority. I know he has many other options of funding other sports disciplines like volleyball, netball, athletics and basketball among others but opted for football. We shall not disappoint him when staging the tournament,” said Football Kenya Federation (FKF) National Executive Committee (NEC) Central region representative Davis Chege aka Shey.

Meanwhile, the tournament’s preliminary round three matches were played over the weekend.

Manyatta were held to a barren draw by Runyenjes at Moi Stadium as Kuresoi South beat Subukia 3-1 at Ole Nguruone sports ground.

At Gatunyu grounds, Gatundu North fought to a 1-1 draw against Gatanga as Njoro thrashed Rongai at Mercy Njeri Primary School.

Collated reults

Ndia 3 Naivasha 2, Tetu 2  Mathioya 1, Isiolo North 4  Imenti North 2, Mwea 3 Kirinyaga Central 0, Limuru 0 Ruiru 2, Kiambu 2 Kabete 4, Kipipiri 0 Kieni 4, Chuka 0 Mbeere South 3, Olkalau 3 Laikipia East 2, Igembe North 3 Isiolo South 1, Kiharu 2 Mathira 3, Chuka Ingambng’ombe 0 Mbeere South 3, Isiolo South 1 Igembe North 3, Mathira 3 Kiharu 2, Nakuru West 3 Gilgil 0, Laikipia West 5 Laikipia North 1, Kiambaa 2 Kikuyu 0, Thik 3 Juja 0, Maragua 2 Kigumo 3, Mukurwe-ini 2 Nyeri Town 0, Kuresoi North 0 Nakuru East 0, Kangema 1 Othaya 3, Buuri 4 Mbeere North 1, Gatundu South 0 Kandara 1, Igembe Central 4 Tigania East 2, Githunguri 1 Lari 2, Maara 2 Tharaka 1, Molo 0 Bahati 1, Ndaragwa 2 Oljoororok 0, Igembe South 5 Tigania West 1, South Imenti 1 Central Imenti 0, Kinangop 4 Gichugu 0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *